Thursday, 1 November 2012

RIM Launches BlackBerry Academic Program in YABATECH

Research in Motion (RIM), maker of BlackBerry smartphones and BlackBerry PlayBook tablets has announced the launch of the BlackBerry Academic Programme in Nigeria.
Yaba College of Technology Lagos, is introducing the free-to-our BlackBerry resources to their students, joining a worldwide programme that includes nearly 700 institutions in more than 113 countries.
Robert Bose, Regional Managing Director for Africa and the Middle east, said “Nigerians are a very important part of our global developer community. This is why we are very excited to announce that Yaba College of technology is joining the BlackBerry Academic Programme.
“As part of our commitment to the Nigerian market, and the Nigerian government’s ICT initiatives, this underlines our strategic aims to support the future generation of mobile software developers, and to help create new jobs in this country. We also extend the invitation to more universities here in Nigeria to become part of this global network.”

The BlackBerry Academic Programme, which is available to tertiary institutions and students throughout Nigeria and around the world, gives educators access to the latest teaching resources and BlackBerry technologies, equipping students with the knowledge and practical hands-on experience to enhance their development skills and create apps.
Dr. (Mrs.) Margaret Kudi Ladipo, Rector of the college, said “we are proud to be one of the first institutions in Nigeria to officially gin up to this programme. The mobile market, specifically app development, presents infinite opportunities for the future generation of Nigerians.
“Together with RIM, this programme will help Yaba College equip our students with new skills and knowledge that will enable them to take advantage of the local and global opportunities available on the BlackBerry platform, a leading platform in the mobile market.”
Students are already benefiting from access to the tools and resources through the web, including individuals at the Lagos State University (LASU), Federal University of technology Akure (FUTA), Ekiti State University (EKSU) and Babcock University. In addition, a large number of independent students are making use of programme’s resources for the purpose of self-study.

No comments:

Post a Comment