Monday, 29 June 2015

7 Ogun State University undergraduates die in ghastly auto accident

The ghastly auto crash that occurred along Sagamu/Benin expressway near Ilishan Remo North Local Government of Ogun State on Friday, 26th June 2015 involving a container truck and a fully-loaded bus has claimed the lives of 11 occupants including 7 undergraduate students of the Olabisi Onabanjo University(OOU)- formerly Ogun State University- Ago Iwoye, Ogun State. According to the commander of the Traffic Compliance and Enforcement Agency, Tommy Hamzat, the truck driver, who was driving against the traffic, lost control and collided with the bus.
 An eyewitness said the driver of the truck drove against traffic which caused the head on collision with the commuter bus. 

“I was coming from Sagamu side and saw the accident. I had to hurriedly park my car, run to the scene to see if the passengers could be rescued but unfortunately all the occupants were dead including the driver. The bus was facing Lagos, but I dont know where it was coming from. The driver of the truck carrying an empty container was coming from Sagamu axis but was driving against traffic and that resulted in the collision, which eventually claimed the lives of the innocent people” the eye witness said.

The OOUSUG investigation team led by Com. Adegbesan Adenola (MALCOMZY) and Transport Committee led by the Chairman, Com. Olowo Rasheed (BELETTI) have gotten details of the accident and the occupants involved. Also, the investigation team had in attendance the Police, SSS, Deputy VC, Dean of Student affairs, University CSO, Chairman Security Council (OOU), ASUU OOU Chairman, Special Adviser to the Governor on Students’ matter, and NANS Ogun JCC Executives. Going by reports, there is only 1 survivor in the accident. Below is a full list of the victims who have been confirmed dead:

Odubanjo Eunice Oluwadamilola. Pol. Science, 200 level.
Ogunnoiki Omolade Mariam. EFM (History), 100 level.
Aribiola Yetunde Elizabeth. Biochemistry, 100 level.
Adams Suliat Oluwatobi. Accounting, 100 level.
Pampam Funmilayo Latifat. Chemical Science, 100 level.
Asade Christianah Ibukun. Law, 200 level.
Dairo Olatunji Michael. Physics, Graduate.

Akinbo Laughter Ibukun. Chemical Science.
Following this tragic incident, there will be no lecture in all OOU campuses on Monday, 29th June 2015. A candle-light session will hold in their honour.

No comments:

Post a Comment